Overcoming Unforgiveness

One Friday a month, Tirzah Stands will have a “take over” day — #TakeoverTStands . This Friday a friend of mine, Samantha Bush, one of my beloved pastors and dearest friends is sharing some of her story about overcoming unforgiveness – #FindFreeFri .

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

img_0473

A few years ago I was traumatically betrayed by someone very close to me but with a renewed mind in Christ I was able to overcome unforgiveness!

I had a true revelation that because Jesus first forgave me, I too should forgive! I pictured my precious Lord on the cross as a martyr beaten beyond recognition speaking those selfless words, “Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do.” Luke 23:34 How could I hold onto this a moment longer, picturing my savior taking the weight of the world upon himself and still having so much mercy? I couldn’t! I realized I was only burdening myself with these negative emotions that bore more bad fruit in my life such as anxiety, bitterness, and offense! I chose to, as they say, “let go and let God”. I chose to be, “rooted and established in love” (Ephesians 3:17) so that I could fully understand His love for me and His love for even my betrayer! I became love so that I could see them with the eyes of Christ, forgive them, have mercy for them and even pray for them! Jesus tells us to, “love our enemies and bless those who persecute you!” (Matthew 5:44). I love how backwards the Kingdom is; but, you could say it’s rightwards! I forgave the person who hurt me both internally and outwardly and it gave me so much freedom and healing! 

If you are holding onto any offenses or unforgiveness I encourage you, no I implore you, to not waste another moment. Step into this new season with purity of heart. I promise it will be the greatest blessing! 

Take it from me. 

Xo,  Pastor Samantha Bush

@mtncftn @sammidiaz

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

I love Samantha and could not agree more with her words. How many of us struggle with unforgiveness each day? Or frequently? We deal with family, friends, co-workers, spouses, etc. on the daily and well…it’s a known fact that people hurt other people. What we choose to do with that underlying pain, hurt, frustration, sadness, etc. is what matters the most. Do we react in rage, unforgiveness, or hurtful acts and words back at the person? Or do we start to pray for that person, bless that person and even love that person? I think it is not an easy task in my own life and I find it most difficult when there is zero remorse or even acknowledgement of the pain caused to you, from the other person. This is when, I believe, it matters most. When forgiving sounds like the last thing you would ever want to do. The only person unforgiveness is hurting most is Y O U. Your sins and evil deeds are not held against you or over your head by others or God. Why do that to someone else? The Lord says in Ecclesiastes 7: 21-22, “Do not pay attention to every word people say, or you may hear your servant cursing you — for you know in your heart that many times you yourself have cursed others.” We are not to pay attention to every little slander or piece of gossip others say about us, because we know that we too, have said things about others, not truly meaning it, or regretting it after it is said. This included, in biblical times, someone’s servant– one in close proximity to Solomon, the author of Ecclesiastes and a rich ruler of this time. Maybe this could equate to our closest family, friends, or people we associate with frequently. Sometimes don’t we feel those closest to us are the ones who have the ability to cause the most pain? Most importantly, like Samantha said, it is critical that when choosing to forgive, because it is a choice, not a mandate, that we remember our Savior on the cross. He bled and died for ALL– for the sin of ALL. We too, need to recognize and honor that by forgiving those who trespass against us. Loving others is a choice; we can do it well, or we don’t have to do it all. What is hindering you from being able to forgive today? Remember the multitude we have been forgiven for.

A Video For Your Reminder of God’s Love

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Thank you for stopping by Tirzah Stands and we hope and pray your heart is opened to forgiving someone in your life today,

cropped-image-1-1.jpg

Leave a Reply

